• Perez-Gurri Law Firm

FLORIDA TEXTING & DRIVING LAW

Updated: Nov 1, 2019


FLORIDA TEXTING & DRIVING LAW

The Wireless Communications While Driving Law, section 316.305, Florida Statutes, took effect on July 1, 2019.


Section 316.305 - Florida Statutes

Went into effect on July 1, 2019

This law allows police officers to stop and issue tickets to all drivers that are manually typing into a communication device to either text, email or instant message while operating a motor vehicle. This includes while the vehicle is stopped at a stoplight or sign. Therefore, it is best to either completely ignore your electronic device or use the Voice to Text features available in new cars and smartphones.


Section 316.306 - Florida Statutes

Goes into effect on October 1, 2019

This law prohibits drivers from holding their communication devices while passing through a designated school crossing, school zone or active work zone area. It is imperative to make use of hands free aids and devices that will ensure you avoid picking up your phone passing while driving.

Goes into effect on October 1, 2019.


Penalties:

FIRST OFFENSE - “is a non-moving traffic violation with a base $30 fine, not including additional court costs or other fees, and no points assessed against the driver's license.” (Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles)


SECOND OFFENSE - “within five years is a moving traffic violation, with a base $60 fine, not including court costs and other fees, and 3 points assessed against the driver's license.” (Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles)


ANY OFFENSE - “is a moving traffic violation, with a base $60 fine, not including driver's court costs and other fees, and 3 points assessed against the driver's license.” (Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles)


Sources:

https://www.flhsmv.gov/safety-center/driving-safety/distracted-driving/