Perez-Gurri Law Firm
TEEN DRIVERS: Statistics, Requirements & Tips
Time flies, and before you know it, your child is ready to get behind the wheel. These novice drivers are a significant concern for surrounding drivers.
“In 2016, 2,433 teens in the United States ages 16–19 were killed, and 292,742 were treated in emergency departments for injuries suffered in motor vehicle crashes.” (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)*
Teen Driver Florida Requirements
At 15 years old teens are eligible to receive a learners permit, but they must meet the following requirements:
Signed Parent Consent Form
Completion of Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course
Passing a Vision & Hearing Test
Passing Class E Knowledge Exam (Writing portion of Driver’s Exam)
The Learner’s Permit allows for teens to be able to start the process of learning how to drive. They cannot step into the driver’s side of the vehicle without first having this identification. This license is limited to many restrictions. These new drivers must always be accompanied by a licensed driver that is 21 or older. Also, they must meet the curfew hours set forth by their county.
After either a year of driving or turning 18, whichever comes first, then they can apply for a Graduated Driver’s License if they are still underage, or a regular Florida Driver’s License if over 18.
Parents play a crucial role in the safety of teen drivers. They are nationally recognized as an at-risk age group for car accidents, therefore it’s imperative that parents are continually equipping teens with the skills and knowledge to be safe drivers.
Many times car accidents can be easily avoided if the driver is dedicating their full attention to the road and not to distractors. Since smartphones are our new kryptonite, it is very common for teens to look down or use their phones while they are behind the wheel. This simple distraction can lead them into very dangerous situations.
Beyond distractions, it is essential for teen drivers to understand that their driving is a privilege that can be quickly taken away if they fail to follow the law. For example, Florida follows a Zero-Tolerance policy for teen drivers driving under the influence. If a teen driver is caught driving with a blood-alcohol level of .02 percent or more, their driving privileges are automatically taken away.
How can a Miami Car Accident Attorney help you?
If you or someone you care about was recently involved in a car accident, it is critical that a thorough investigation of the accident and all facts surrounding it be conducted as soon as possible. If not, the evidence can be lost and/or destroyed. Having evidence and legal representation can make all the difference in your ability to receive fair and adequate compensation for your damages.
The Perez-Gurri Law Firm will handle all aspects of your car accident case, from your injuries to your property damage. Under Florida law, most car accident victims have to prove that they suffered a permanent injury before they can recover money for pain and suffering. We will explain this law to you and how it affects your case. You should consult with an attorney who can advise you of your rights and the potential value of your damages.
* Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) [Online] Atlanta. GA: US Department of Health and Human Services, CDC; 2015. Available at https://www.cdc.gov/injury/wisqars/index.html. Accessed 26 July 2018.